The Modern Bakeshop & Cafe was established in 2005 and is located in Historic Downtown Revelstoke, in a 118 Year-old Heritage building beside Revelstoke City Hall.
The building was constructed in 1897 by Mrs. Lawson and moved from Third and Charles to its present location to house her lace and embroidery shop.
In 1903, the Lawson Store was purchased by Albert Bennison for a bakery and fruit shop. In 1907 it became City Bakery and from 1930 to 1952, it became The Modern Bakery, owned by Luigi ‘Louis” Catlin. A bakery and brick oven was built at the back of the building. Wood for the oven was delivered by Jim Gawiuk’s Mother’s Brothers. The brick oven was dismantled in 1990 and the bricks were used to landscape The Piano Keep which is now the Minto Manor.
After the death of Luigi Catlin in 1952, the Modern Bakery became Orange Crush owned by Harold Malone until 1959 when he moved next door to the present Malones, and Tony Roma’s restaurant operated from 1959 to 1979, until he moved to the present Village Idiot. The building lay mostly empty form 1979 to 1990.
In 1986, downtown Revelstoke’s 2.8 million Revitilization* program began to “to meet its goal of gaining the attention of tourists in search of an authentic historic experience”. The Modern was restored to its original look and in 1990, Maureen Weddell opened Mackenzie Station until 1998.
- 1998-2000 Blueberry Patch, Tammy Pelleteri
- 2000-2004 Woolsey Creek, Lane Seabrook
- 2004-2005 Woolesley Creek, Sylvie and Sophie Fortin
- 2005-present The Modern Bakeshop & Cafe, Kevan McCroy and Josee Zimanyi